• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

During the winter when the temperature drops below freezing the black sealant around the outside edge of the teak on the cockpit seating pulls away from the teak and grp, and when it warms up it shrinks back to a tight fit.
      One of the jobs on the “to do” list is to cut it out and replace. I’m guessing it is a Sikaflex sealant/adhesive but does anyone know which one or done the same job and can recommend a suitable sealant?
      Thanks in advance.
      Rick
      Sundance

Anonymous

Hi Rick

Try googling – it comes up with loads of hits.

The Sikaflex product is 290DC but there are several others. I can’t recommend any particular product as I’ve no direct experience – yet.

I need to do a few ‘seams’ on Playtime’s deck so would be interested in your experiences when you’ve done the job.

Roger

Anonymous

Ditto from me!! One or two little gaps appearing on Another Fantasy’s deck…..

Ian Culley

Anonymous

Roger
            Thanks for that.
            I’ve had a look at the Sikaflex 290DC and it looks to be the right stuff and at £18 per tube it ought to do the job.
            I probably only need a tenth of the tube so if successful I’ll let you and Ian know and share the remainder of the tube with you.
            Regards
            Rick

Anonymous

I replaced the caulking on some small areas of teak on a previous boat. It was a Sika product which I used but don’t recall the reference. What I can remember is that it is quite fluid and it is best to mask both edges before running the Sika into the groove taking care not to overfill. The nasking tape can then be removed before it sets. Take care at this point as it can prove quite messy with long strips of masking take with caulking on which can get everywhere as it flies about in the wind!! Good luck.

Mike

Kamara

Anonymous

Mike