• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hello Everyone, we are new members, and are planing a trip into the Med next year on our Bav 40.

I was wondering if anybody yet has taken the plunge and bought an EFOY http://www.efoy.com/en/ it seems a great alternative for the part-time cruisers allowing an alternative to a small generator, I was an electrical engineer from the telecoms background and this option seems very easy to fit taking the strain off the main engine while on the anchor. It also does not take up that much space, they are expensive right now but the benefits seem to be very good. If anyone has one could you let us know your views.

Regards Theseus

Anonymous

We left UK in 2009 and are presently in Sicily.
        My advice is to fit a stern arch, rigid Solar Panels with a MPPT regulator. We left with only a wind generator, but now have 180w fixed solar panels + a 60w semi flex, which keeps us fully charged unless it’s overcast and windless, which is seldom.
        You might also consider increasing your domestic battery capacity.

John

Anonymous

Thanks for this, we are going to fit solar as I had this as you describe on my last boat worked very well, the Efoy was a new and very popular system to replace the Genset. For as you say the dark days.

Enjoy Sicily are you on the south side or the north, we will be coming by next year, the north seems to not have many stopping points to the south, the south is longer up to the Ionian I’m interested to know as in the past I have always been boarded on route by men in Leather jackets and pistols!! who then turn out to be Guardia Finanza looking for drug running…….it is a bit scary till you show them your passport and all the other stuff. Good luck anyway happy saling

Anonymous

Have you read the write up on the EFOY in the October edition of Yachting Monthly?
            Looks like a very good solution – even if a little pricey?