• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

I am being lifted out of the water for a short time and am getting ready to change the anodes.
      I have an Ambassador rope stripper which means the saildrive anode has to be altered or I have to buy one specially made from Ambassador. I thought the easiest was to get one from Ambassador until I saw the price!
      So now I’m thinking of getting a cheapie and adapting it. This is my first lift out with this boat and my first ever boat with a saildrive so my concern is how easy is it to adapt the anode and change it in the short time it will be out of the water. I believe it’s the Volvo 130 saildrive.
      Any advice would be appreciated.
      Cheers
      Derek

Anonymous

Hi, Volvo can supply one to accomodate the Ambassador but I can not remember the price.
        Regards, John
        Loblolly

Anonymous

I think I paid in the region of £27 plus VAT back in January from Motortech for the Volvo ropecutter anode.
          Expensive for what it is but saves the aggro when pushed for time. Also that was for a 120 Sd which is a single anode so the prop has to come off to change the anode.
          If memory serves me correctly the 130 is a 2 piece anode so you don’t have to remove the prop, however I expect that makes the anode nearly double the price!

Anonymous

I get mine from Motortech and fit it myself. It is £54+vat and comes in 2 parts so is very easy to fit. I think it would cost the same from most suppliers. I agree it is very expensive, but I would not like to have to try and make it.
            Best regards,
            Michael

Anonymous

Crikey.
              The 130 anode was exactly double the price for something that’s been cut in half! Good old VP.

Anonymous